close menu
This website uses cookies to store your accessibility preferences. No personal / identifying information is stored. More info.


commissioner group pic
Back Row (L to R):
Commissioner Tim O'Donnell, President
Commissioner Cliff Sweeney, Treasurer
Commissioner Joseph Ritz, Vice President 

Front Row (L to R):
Amy Boehman - Pollitt
Mayor Donald N. Briggs
Commissioner Frank Davis

All legislative powers of the Town of Emmitsburg shall be vested in a Board of Commissioner, consisting of five Commissioners who shall be elected.  
The terms of the Commissioners shall be three years or until his or her successor is elected and qualified.  The terms are staggered and elections are held on the Tuesday preceding the first Monday in October.  Commissioners shall have resided in Emmitsburg, for at least one year immediately preceding their election and shall be qualified voters.

The term of the Mayor shall be three years or until his or her successor is elected and shall qualify.  The Mayor's term shall expire on the evening of the first Monday in October of each third year after the regular election.  The Mayor must be a legal resident of Emmitsburg for at least two years immediately preceding his election and shall be a qualified voter.  

Town Meetings
The Board of Commissioners shall meet regularly once each month on the First Monday, unless otherwise specified, at 7:30pm.  Special meetings may be called by the Mayor or by two Commissioners as often as necessary for the transaction of business.

Mayor and Board of Commissioners
Planning Commission
Parks and Recreation Committee
Ethics Commission
Board of Appeals
Citizens Advisory Committee